A Conversation With A Self-Proclaimed ‘Field General’ – Meet Sanjay Varmon

What were you doing at twenty-two? Maybe you were a student or working a part-time job. Sanjay Varmon, for one, is an Assistant Manager at 2313 Inc. The leader joined our team in January of 2020, and after a harrowing year, he has come out on top and with a title.

Born and raised in Detroit, Sanjay Varmon once dreamt of becoming a police officer and helping the world. That dream later shifted to the realm of medicine as Varmon went on to study Nursing. “I was always interested in the business of helping and healing,” says Varmon, “after high school, I went straight to work to pursue nursing. I worked at nursing homes and hospitals full-time to gain experience while maintaining fifteen college credit hours.”

“I truly believe I’ll be in the business for the long haul,” says Varmon, “this opportunity is setting me up for success and will change my life for the better. I threw away my scrubs a long time ago- I look much better in a suit.”

The greatest skill an entrepreneur can possess is that of communication. We’re in the business of human connection. “I can talk to anyone in the world,” says Varmon, “I can make a friend out of anyone and I think that’s my greatest skill. I can get any job done on my own, but I believe working as a team is just more fun. I love coaching and learning from other people.”

There’s your sample- want to learn more about Sanjay? We sat down with him to discuss all things career and growth. Read on to meet our all-star Assistant Manager.

How has your career grown since starting at the company?

“I’ve been promoted twice within a year. My experiences working other jobs have not been like this one. This is the most fruitful company I’ve ever worked for.”

What do you look for in a teammate?

“One thing I always look for is mental toughness. I truly believe it’s not about what life hits you with, it’s about how you respond. I’m definitely a ‘field general,’ coming from a football background, I can look at a situation and diagnose what needs to be done as a leader. Teammates should also be open to criticism. I genuinely get excited when I am critiqued, because I’m open to growth and feedback is everything.”

What is your favorite thing about 2313 Inc.?

“I love the people I work with and the opportunity we provide to people.”

What drew you to your company in the first place?

“Taylor was the first person I spoke to and she was so kind on the phone, so I thought ‘why not meet her in person?’ I knew sales was something I was looking for. When I came into the office, she talked to me like I was a human being and not just a resume.”

Are you a planner? What are your short-term and long-term goals?

“Short-term is to make our office even stronger and continue to build relationships with those who’ve walked the path I’m currently on. Long-term, I’d love to run a baller office and provide opportunity to as many people as possible while getting my parents the house they’ve always wanted.”

 What business advice would you give to people hoping to start a career?

“Don’t be scared. Life is all about risks and until you decide to make that jump, you’ll be the same person you were yesterday.”

What do you feel is your greatest accomplishment to date?

“Being able to pay my dad’s bills for a whole summer was a great moment for me. I like to look at what I did yesterday and ask myself, ‘am I setting myself up for a strong future, or do I need coaching?’”

That’s our guy! It’s easy to see what 2313 Inc. loves about Sanjay Varmon, and how we’ve achieved so much together in a year and a half. We don’t know where we would be without his steadfast drive, determination, and leadership.

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑